I woke up to read the newspaper’s (how 1980’s) account of why American society should not support health care for all (and if you go to the comments you can see how Mr Goldberg’s supporters feel about their fellow Americans on other issues as well). I also read the newspaper’s accounts of deserving sick folks, the diseases that they became afflicted with due to no fault of their own (peripartum cardiomyopathy, non-Hodgkins lymphoma, post-traumatic stress disorder), their trials regarding maneuvering the health care delivery system, and the ability of the dysfunctional health care delivery system to allow the resilience of the human spirit to shine through. Since I don’t like to believe that the purpose of my life is to provide a path to sainthood for others, I choose not to dwell on these things today.

Instead, I am thankful for my health and that of my family. I am thankful that we have had the privilege of living and raising a family in the same neighborhood (with many of the same neighbors) for the past 20 years. I am thankful we have had the responsibility of maintaining a house in Mobile’s historic district for those 20 years as well. Professionally, I am blessed to have been a part in the training of over 100 Family Medicine residents and countless medical students. I have also been blessed to have been a part of my patient’s lives for 20 years as well and have helped them both to maintain their health and navigate this bizarre sytem when their illness requires it.

I am also thankful that I have the opportunity to yell at the newspaper every morning with my coffee…

