11924432-largeI continue to receive the Sunday Press Register in paper form. I used to get a paper 7 days a week. I enjoyed getting up and having an excuse to walk out onto the lawn, getting a peek at the day and the neighborhood. I enjoyed glancing through the paper while drinking coffee. I enjoyed the limited  time commitment (no hyperlinks). Mostly, I appreciated paying someone to wade through the day’s information and give me about 45 minutes worth on weekdays and 2 hours worth on Sundays.

Part of the joy was being able to disagree with people in the privacy of my kitchen, loudly and with much poking of fingers at the paper, itself. Today, I got to yell, again. My  opportunity was at a piece on the need NOT to expand Medicaid, written by Quin Hillyer. The first quote:

Some 900,000 Alabamians already rely on Medicaid; if ObamaCare’s inducements are accepted, as many as another half-million state residents will join those rolls – mostly drawn not from the ranks of the indigent, but instead from those earning substantially above the official poverty rate.

was met with a finger poke and a “If by substantially you mean 133% of the official poverty line, or $31,000 for a family of 4. Maybe everyone should spend 40% of their take home income on the health insurance plan their boss picks out for them” My wife hollered from upstairs, “I’m going to stop that paper.”

The next paragraph to make my slam down my coffee cup was:

Furthermore, for those who oppose ObamaCare as a whole – a number that includes a large majority of Alabamians and consistent if smaller majorities of the whole American public – the refusal to set up exchanges also strikes a blow at the entire ObamaCare edifice.

“If by majority you mean 38% of Americans!” I yelled. Hillyer didn’t answer. Danielle slammed the bedroom door shut. “If you would educate yourself on health care reform instead of maintaining an insistence that the Randian market will solve the health needs of poor, sick people maybe thinking people would listen to you.” The dog ran into the other room. I read on:

Likewise, some experts argue that even the controversial “individual mandate” barely upheld by the Supreme Court last summer might not apply in states without their own exchanges. (Interpretations on this point are divided.)

“Define some experts! I know YOU have written this (found here). Shouldn’t you say “I am the expert who says this a lot!!!” The cats both asked to go outside.

He then closed with the following:

By rejecting the exchanges, then, Bentley abets the continuing battles, both practical and legal/constitutional, against a law that still faces significant hurdles before it takes full effect. For those who believe the better path of reform leads in precisely the opposite direction from the complicated command-and-control of ObamaCare, this is a result to be devoutly desired.

“Well,” I said, pouring myself another cup of coffee, “at least he called it a law.” Then I moved onto to George Will but that is another story.

